n 1704, Rowland Ellis from Wales named his farm Bryn Mawr, meaning great hill in Welsh. In 1719, the farm was renamed Harriton.
Until 1869 the town was known as Humphreysville, honoring the Humphrey family who had amassed a large amount of property. The town was renamed by railroad agent William H. Wilson after he acquired, on behalf of the railroad, the 283 acres that now comprise Bryn Mawr. With the coming of the railroads, Bryn Mawr became a fashionable summer destination. The Pennsylvania Railroad aggressively promoted the town, creating a demand for elegant country residences. Many of the new owners commuted regularly to Philadelphia.
Bryn Mawr is located in Lower Merion, Radnor and Haverford Townships. Lower Merion, Radnor and Haverford Townships provide educational and public services to residents residing in their respective township. Bryn Mawr is a charming community with one of the most beautiful residential areas in the country. Along Lancaster Pike, Bryn Mawr is a cosmopolitan town with upscale shopping. Bryn Mawr is home to many highly regarded private schools and colleges.
Noteworthy historical locations in Bryn Mawr are Harriton House, The Baldwin School, Bryn Mawr College and The Bryn Mawr Film Institute.
© Main Line Video Guide